Info Centre‎ > ‎

How to Reset and clear an ipad

How to Reset and clear an ipad of all information

Learn what to do before selling or giving away your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. 

Before you sell or give away your iOS device, make sure that you have removed all your personal information. Follow these steps to protect your data and get your device to its factory default state for the new owner:

   Backup your device.

   Turn off iCloud: Tap Settings > iCloud > Delete Account. This will remove the iCloud account and data from this device only.

   Turn off iMessage: Tap Settings > Messages > iMessage and turn the slider to Off.

   Turn off FaceTime: Tap Settings > FaceTime and turn the slider to Off. 

   Tap Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings to restore the iOS device to new.

When the device is turned on for the first time by the new owner, Setup Assistant will guide them through the setup process.

Important: Do not manually delete contacts, calendars, reminders, documents, photo streams, or any other iCloud data while signed in to your iCloud account, or the content will also be deleted from the iCloud servers and all of your iCloud devices.